The Marsh King's DaughterThe Marsh King’s Daughter by Karen Dionne

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Date read:  July 12, 2017

Wow!  Well that was one heck of a good read!

THE MARSH KING’S DAUGHTER by KAREN DIONNE is an extremely gripping fast-paced suspenseful psychological thriller that had me totally engaged, entertained, and interested throughout this whole book. I was flipping those pages as fast as I could in anticipation and fascination finishing this book in less than 24-hrs.  I could not put this book down!

KAREN DIONNE delivers an intense, atmospheric, and an angst driven read here with well-developed characters that is extremely well-written with a lot of detail.  Just a warning that there is also a very graphic hunting scene that some readers might find disturbing.

THE MARSH KING’S DAUGHTER is told in our main characters, Helena’s perspective alternating between the past and the present.  When we first meet Helena we learn that she is happily married with two little girls and then she gets news that her convicted father has escaped from prison and then the action begins with a heart-stopping cat and mouse game of daughter against father.

From Helena’s story in the past we learn all about her childhood of being raised in captivity where she is actually oblivious to the fact that her and her Mother are being held captive by her father.  The way that Helena lived and survived while growing up in the marsh was actually quite amazing and I thoroughly enjoyed her story.  Her story from the past and present were both equally compelling to me.

Although, I wouldn’t say that this novel was all that suspenseful for me it was the pacing, setting, writing, and the characters that I found so compelling.

To sum it all up it was a riveting, enjoyable, suspenseful, fast-paced, quick and easy read with a satisfying ending.  Highly recommend!  This book is definitely going into my favourite reads list for 2017!

 

