Dead Woman WalkingDead Woman Walking by Sharon Bolton

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Traveling Sisters NetGalley Sister Review by Norma with Brenda, and Kaceey’s thoughts.

4 stars for an extremely clever story!

DEAD WOMAN WALKING by SHARON BOLTON is an action-packed, intense, compelling, and tension-filled crime thriller novel that grabbed our attention right away with the unique start to this story with a tragic incident involving a hot-air balloon ride.

The action starts off right away and had us using our detective skills quite early on trying to figure out the direction of the story and the motives of the dead woman walking.

Norma’s thoughts:  I personally like going into all my books blind as I like to try to figure out the direction of the story on my own with little detail as possible. This one had me totally confused so I did have to read the synopsis after a few chapters in which didn’t really help me all that much still leaving me with more questions than answers.  But, I guess that is good though……

We all had a little trouble connecting with the story at first and struggled with the multiple narratives and the plot jumping back and forth in time although it did create a constant sense of unease throughout this story though.  Sending Kaceey off in the wrong direction, Norma asking questions and finding out that she was heading in the right direction, and leaving Brenda with a nagging feeling something is up here. That’s what made this a very interesting reading experience for us and where Sharon Bolton does her magic.

SHARON BOLTON delivers a cleverly and skillfully written story here giving us little information at first and dropping those clues so subtle into the plot and then pulling it all together in a heart-stopping and thrilling ending.

To sum it all up it was a gripping, complex, fast-paced, and an enjoyable read that will keep you guessing with all those twists and turns right to the dramatic ending. Would recommend!!

Thank you so much to NetGalley, St. Martin’s Press and Sharon Bolton for the opportunity to read a copy of this book for a fair and honest review.

 

 

BRENDA’S THOUGHTS

Dead Woman Walking was an excellent choice for a Traveling Sister Read.  A great one for all of us to use our different detective skills.  Timing was a bit off for us on this one as we read at different paces. However we were able to come together at the end and read the heart stopping finish together.  What a great discussion that made for the ending. I highly recommend for group reads.

Dead Woman Walking is a brilliant and compelling story with many layers to the well-crafted plot that caught my attention right away with the opening scene.  After reading a bit more into the multiple stories and the two timelines it did leave me confused and frustrated at times as I didn’t know which way to focus my detective skills towards. I had a hard time connecting at first.  But that is where Sandra Bolton shines with the cleverness of the story. She is sneaky and holds back some information leaving several clever clues along the way that did leave me with a nagging feeling something is not right here but still not being able to piece anything together.

Sandra Bolton cleverly merges the plots together, leaving clues along the way and springs the twists and turns at the perfect time. She has developed an array of interesting and compelling characters.  I loved the nuns who added some fun and humor to the story.

I highly recommend for the cleverest of thriller lovers to challenge their detective skills.

Thank you so to NetGalley, St. Martin’s Press and Sharon Bolton for a copy to read and review

 

KACEEY’S THOUGHTS

A fantastic, thrilling traveling sister read with my Canadian sisters Norma and Brenda!

What could be a better birthday present than a hot air balloon ride? Jessica treats her sister Isabella to an experience of a lifetime! But of course – this special treat ends in tragedy, with most of the balloon party dead and the remaining survivor running for her life. Why won’t she go to the police for help? What is she so frightened of?

I had a hard time connecting with this book in the beginning. So much happening from different angles that I kept wondering how or even if it would all come together. Left me confused, and felt like I missed something along the way. Told in different timelines, I occasionally found myself stumbling to keep track. Finally, near the half-way mark, I was supremely confident I had it all figured out. So when the first bomb-shell twist occurred, it just about knocked me off my sofa!!

At that point it’s like a run-away train…. don’t look away or you’ll miss something huge! Turns out, the book is jammed packed full of curve-balls! And I only managed to figure one of them out! Perhaps losing my touch? No…Sharon Bolton is just that good!! Bravo! So be patient, it is absolutely worth the wait for all the twists and shocking moments!

If twisty thrillers are your cup of tea then you will love this one!!

Thank you to NetGalley, St. Martin’s Press and Sharon Bolton
for a copy to read and review

