We Need to Talk About KevinWe Need to Talk About Kevin by Lionel Shriver

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Date read:  October 20 – 23, 2016

I don’t think a book has ever made me teary-eyed before! I have been known to sob while watching a movie but haven’t actually while absorbed in a book.

We Need to Talk About Kevin was it “Impossible to put down” as suggested on the front cover? No, out of the 400 pages of this book, I thought that the first 200 or so pages were extremely hard to get through because this was not an easy read for me. I did not particularly like the authors writing style, choice of words used, and all the details crammed together in a sentence. It was quite exhausting at times. The last 100 pages were actually hard to put down. After so many pages of build-up the climax was fast-paced and I felt that it was a complete, satisfying read in the end.

The book was told in a series of letters by Kevin’s mom, Eva to her husband, Franklin. Most of the letters Eva talks about Kevin, why she decided to have him, what it was like raising him, ways that she might of failed at being a mother, and confessions of her own about Kevin.

So was Kevin born that way or was he made that way because he didn’t have a mother that wanted, loved or nurtured him?

That is the question you will be asking yourself throughout the novel as you read.

It was a thought-provoking, slow-paced, disturbing, emotional, and difficult read but I think it was well worth it. I was completely satisfied with the very emotional ending. That yup actually made me cry.

