Search

TWO SISTERS LOST IN A COULEE READING

Two sisters coming together sharing their book reviews and just talking books!

Date

March 5, 2017

The Marriage LieThe Marriage Lie by Kimberly Belle

From Goodreads:  Even the perfect marriage has its dark side… 

Iris and Will’s marriage is as close to perfect as it can be: a large house in a nice Atlanta neighborhood, rewarding careers and the excitement of trying for their first baby. But on the morning Will leaves for a business trip to Orlando, Iris’s happy world comes to an abrupt halt. Another plane headed for Seattle has crashed into a field, killing everyone on board, and according to the airline, Will was one of the passengers on this plane.

Grief-stricken and confused, Iris is convinced it all must be a huge misunderstanding. But as time passes and there is still no sign of Will, she reluctantly accepts that he is gone. Still, Iris needs answers. Why did Will lie about where he was going? What is in Seattle? And what else has he lied about? As Iris sets off on a desperate quest to find out what her husband was keeping from her, the answers she receives will shock her to her very core.

 

Review by Norma: The Wonder by Emma Donoghue

The WonderThe Wonder by Emma Donoghue

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Date read:  March 2nd to 4th, 2017

4.5 Stars rounded up!

First off I have never been so riled up while reading a book before as I was with this one!  I wanted to give a few characters a piece of my mind!  I wanted to throw my book at them but gently as I would never want to hurt my precious books but some of those characters sure needed to be smacked around a little!

THE WONDER by EMMA DONOGHUE was an intriguing, gripping, mesmerizing, and a beautifully written Historical Fiction novel which was set in a small Irish village from the nineteenth century that grabbed my attention from the very first chapter.

I really like THE COVER of this book as that is what initially drew me in when I first seen it and then when I noticed who the author was yup I knew that I would have to purchase it when it would go on Chapter’s 40% off of their bestsellers books.

THE WONDER is a fitting TITLE for this book but I am not going to go into why as I believe this book is best to go into reading blind as I did.  The blurb from the book says it best: AN IRISH VILLAGE IS MYSTIFIED BY WHAT APPEARS TO BE A MIRACLE BUT MAY ACTUALLY BE MURDER IN THE NEXT MASTERPIECE FROM BESTSELLING AUTHOR EMMA DONOGHUE.

EMMA DONOGHUE delivers a well-written atmospheric, unique, interesting, and an extremely captivating story here with well-developed CHARACTERS that had me totally engaged and guessing throughout the slow-building mysterious storyline as the complex pieces of the puzzle are revealed to us which definitely ruffled some of my feathers.

To sum it all up it was a thought-provoking, intense, steady-paced, quick and easy read with a wrapped up quite nicely and satisfying ENDING for another enjoyable read. Would recommend!!

 

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑