Defending JacobDefending Jacob by William Landay

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Read February 16-18, 2017

I have had Defending Jacob on my TBR list for awhile and have been waiting for the right time to read it. This was the perfect time. I love when that happens.

I found Defending Jacob to be an original, gripping, complex, and an interesting crime thriller as well as emotional and a thought provoking family drama. What made this an interesting read for me was the combination of the legal side of the crime, the courtroom drama and the emotional family drama of a family in crisis after their son Jacob is accused of a violent crime.

The story is told from devoted, tormented and intelligent former first District Attorney Andy and father to Jacob who fights to save his son, who is after the truth but terrified of it and blinded by his unconditional love for his son. The drama intensifies as Jacob’s parents Andy and Laurie contrast each other with Andy’s determination who can see no wrong from his son and Laurie’s doubts, quilt, and willingness to see her son for what he could be.

What a stunning, shocking and unforgettable ending that left me stunned for a moment, I almost dropped my book.

Defending Jacob had me asking myself so many questions and I was stunned at the same time. I highly recommend for crime thrillers who like some family drama and for parents who love to be challenged with parenting questions.

View all my reviews

